11
Nov
08

nothing to lose?

I was listing to another fightworks podcast this weekend ( www.thefightworkspodcast.com ) and they had a great interview with Ed Kennedy, a black belt out of Alliance in Atlanta who was talking about balancing BJJ and family, work, etc.

I highly recommend the entire episode and interview (#118) but one of the subjects that Ed touched on really grabbed my attention and got me thinking about my game.  He spoke about moving up through the belt ranks as a family man and professional and the challenge of rolling without an ego…how it is so much easier to roll when you have nothing to lose.

I used to always say that I played to the level of my competition.  I’m lucky to roll with some very talented grapplers on a regular basis and enjoy it.  I’ve found on many occasions that when I rolled with equal or lesser belts that my game didn’t carry over the way I thought it should.  The simple reality of it, however, was not my competition, but my mindset.  I was rolling as much not to lose as opposed to when I knew my guard was likely to get passed.

It’s something I’m really concentrating on right now, rolling like I have nothing to lose.

The funny thing is that I remember when I got my blue, and I was a top game dominant grappler.  One of my black belt friends pulled me aside and told me if I wanted to learn jiu jitsu I needed to start playing off my back every chance I got.  It sucked, getting passed by people I was used to beating, it was frustrating, a blow to my ego…but it changed my game.

I think know it is time to start using that mindset again, opening up, using my half guard…and rolling to learn, not rolling to when.

Thanks Ed.

Fight Harder! Fight Longer!

www.tacticalnutrition.net

0 Responses to “nothing to lose?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

